Looming transitions

is the title of a book by Amy Young. Some of us are reading together as we prepare to leave Nepal this year.

If you’ve been following this blog for 9 years you’ll know we got into Nepal through a wardrobe.

  • Access to Narnia

We have noticed many similarities with CS Lewis’ Narnia series – adventure, challenge, more responsibility and knowing one day we will be asked to return by ‘Aslan’ the king. In Prince Caspian Aslan tells the children;

‘You are too old … and you must begin to come close to your own world now’.

In the Kathmandu chorale this Spring we’ll be singing The Call. It’s already making us cry. It’s a piece from the film version of Prince Caspian and has the phrase;

‘Just because everything’s changing doesn’t mean it hasn’t been this way before..’

Donald Miller writes;

‘’All my life I have been changing…everybody has to change, or they expire. Everybody has to leave, everybody has to leave home and come back so they can love it again for all new reasons. I want to keep my soul fertile for the changes, so things keep getting born in me, so things keep[ dying when it is time for things to die’’.  

I’m curious to know how to keep my soul fertile. Any suggestions welcome.

It may seem a long time until December but it’s helpful to think about the balance between treasuring here and now and planning for the future. This is an uncomfortable but essential tension to live with.

Here are some of the things I’ve treasured in the last 2 months;

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment