‘This is ours’

AS USUAL PLEASE IGNORE THE ADVERTS. THEY HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH ME!

Frankly, I was terrified about presenting my research. I’m much more comfortable doing informal interactive teaching. Would I forget what to say? Would it be robust enough? There were 5 years of research to present, would people get bored?! Some months ago a friend presented her research in an arty venue with lots of interaction and other voices. She didn’t seem to mind me borrowing her style. So I used the same venue, prepared lots of creative slides, had group discussions, two actors spoke the voices of the 8 anonymous participants in my 2019 Focus Group Discussion (my main data). What excited me was the phrase ‘This is ours’   We contextualized and translated the supervision course together and the Nepal students own it and I hope will go on teaching it.

My two research supervisors – professor and assistant professor, were the Special Guests at the presentation. It transpired the course has now been accepted by the University – wonderful news.

In the same week as this, Andy and I had been to Pokhara to help with a retreat. It was actually very relaxing (apart from the 10  hour bumpy journey)  and a chance to say goodbye to Pokhara (we first stayed there in 2001) It was then my turn to be a Special Guest and speak at ECTC’s contributuin to World Mental Health day. Some of us wore our saris and the event built some really good connections with the local community. ‘This is ours’ our community and we can make a difference together’

Last week we were suddenly invited to a wedding reception in the Landlords garden! His son had got married in Australia and this ceremony was to welcome the bride into her in-laws’ home. She will now only ever be a visitor to her parents’ home. We all greeted them with confetti made of marigold petals, we danced, ate lots of food and watched as the bride stepped over the threshold – a big moment. The groom then has to bargain with his sister to be allowed in the house too. He has to pay her and there is lots of laughter. This was a family event and many were dressed in their ‘Magar’ tribal costumes. ‘This is ours!’    We loved it all and were made very welcome. This is the landlord and hsi wife.

The following day some of us completed the office roof garden so that it was ready for yesterday – ECTC Team-Care day. The last one I will coordinate. After a rather stressful start, it was a very special day for all of us – spiritual, playful, new learning, challenge, honesty and team building. Here our roof before and after.

And soon I will be letting go; this is their team, this is their garden….

 But finally a special picture of daughter Katie at Tawakwle station in SriLanka – the town where my mum was born 89 years ago. ‘This is part of our family story’ On Wednesday the 4 of us are going trekking together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment